Hall of Fame Inductees

Jimmy Jacobs jacobslawoffice@KNOLOGY.NET
Sat Feb 18 13:34:10 EST 2012

This is from the Blues Foundation website:

The Blues Foundation has announced the 2012 inductees for the Blues Hall of
Fame, including Chicago harp master Billy Boy Arnold; blues-rock guitar
virtuoso Mike Bloomfield; brother/sister recording act Buddy & Ella Johnson;
South Louisiana swamp blues artist Lazy Lester; Memphis bluesmen Furry Lewis
and Frank Stokes; guitar genius Matt "Guitar" Murphy; and New Orleans
musician, songwriter, and producer Allen Toussaint.

Among the other individuals being recognized by The Blues Foundation this
year are: Chicago Blues radio force Pervis Spann; German "American Folk
Blues Festival" promoters Horst Lippmann and Fritz Rau; and songwriting
legend Doc Pomus.

The books Bessie by Chris Albertson and The Voice of the Blues: Classic
Interviews from Living Blues Magazine, edited by Jim O'Neal & Amy van
Singel, will also be inducted into the Blues Hall of Fame.

These albums are also being honored: Damn Right, I've Got the Blues by Buddy
Guy (1991) and Bad Influence by Robert Cray (1984). The following singles
will be inducted during the ceremony: "It Hurts Me Too" by Tampa Red (1940);
"Pine Top's Boogie Woogie" by Pine Top Smith (1928); and "All Your Love" by
Magic Sam (1957).

The induction ceremony will be held Wednesday, May 9, at the Memphis
Marriott Downtown in Memphis, Tennessee, the night before the 33rd Blues
Music Awards. Plans are underway now to individually honor each of the
inductees that night. The Blues Foundation is currently engaged in a $3.5
million campaign to establish a physical Blues Hall of Fame at its
headquarters at 421 South Main in downtown Memphis.

The Blues Hall of Fame committee, consisting of scholars, record producers,
radio programmers, and historians, is chaired by Jim O'Neal, founding editor
of Living Blues.

On May 10, the night after the Blues Hall of Fame inductions, The Blues
Foundation will present the Blues Music Awards for the 33rd time.
Performers, industry representatives, and fans from around the world will
celebrate the best in Blues recording, songwriting and performance from the
previous year at the Memphis Cook Convention Center in downtown Memphis. The
evening will see performances by 2012 Hall of Fame inductees and Blues Music
Award nominees.

Major funding is provided by ArtsMemphis and the Tennessee Arts Commission.
The 33rd Blues Music Awards and Blues Hall of Fame events are also sponsored
by Blue Mountain Artists, BMI, Catfood Records, Eagle Rock Entertainment,
FedEx, First Tennessee Foundation, Legendary Rhythm & Blues Cruise, Memphis
Convention and Visitors Bureau, the Sierra Nevada Brewing Company and
Sony/Legacy Records.

Inductees' biographies and a complete list of Hall of Fame inductees can be
found  <http://www.blues.org/halloffame/index.php> here.

Archives & web interface: http://listserv.nethelps.com/ARCHIVES/BLUES-L.HTML
- To contact the administrator, send an email addressed to: owner-BLUES-L@listserv.nethelps.com
- To unsubscribe, send a new email addressed to: listserv@listserv.nethelps.com, with the message: unsubscribe BLUES-L

More information about the Blues-l mailing list